1999 Leiden Conference

Asia in the Pacific

Leiden, Fri 25 – Sun 27 June 1999


Dear colleague,

The Board of the European Society for Oceanists (ESfO) has recently decided that the next conference will be held in Leiden, The Netherlands, from Friday, June 25, up to and including Sunday, June 27, 1999. It will be organized jointly by the Centre for Pacific Studies (CPS) of the University of Nijmegen, and the Irian Jaya Studies Programme (ISIR) which is coordinated by Leiden University. The members of the conference committee are:
Jelle Miedema (chair), Paul van der Grijp (deputy-chair), Mary Bakker and Philomena Dol (conference secretaries), Toon van Meijl, and Gunter Senft.

The Board has decided to shift the dates of the conference to the end of June (to accommodate Australian members) and to a full weekend (to accommodate members from central and southern Europe). The general theme of the conference is: ASIA IN THE PACIFIC.

The Board has extensively discussed suggestions of themes from the Society’s membership for the organization of sessions of the conference. A preliminary overview of session themes is listed in the invitation and call for papers. Please find also from the website:
(i) a preliminary registration form, including a mini-questionnaire about the date of future conferences of ESfO,
(ii) information about hotel registration, and
(iii) a form for the ESfO Board Nomination 1999 (for European members only).

We look forward to seeing you in Leiden.

On behalf of the ESfO Board and Conference Committee,

yours sincerely,

Jelle Miedema (Chairman) and Paul van der Grijp (Deputy Chairman)

Organization ESFO 1999 Conference:

The organization of the fourth ESfO conference is a co-operative effort of the Centre for Pacific Studies (CPS), University of Nijmegen, and the Irian Jaya Studies Programme (ISIR), coordinated at Leiden University. ISIR is a Priority Programme of the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO), financed by the Netherlands Foundation for the Advancement of Tropical Research (WOTRO).

Organizing Committee:

Jelle Miedema (chair), coordinator ISIR project, Leiden University,
Paul van der Grijp (vice chair), CPS board member, University of Nijmegen,
Mary Bakker / Philomena Dol (conference secretaries), secretariat ISIR,
Toon van Meijl, academic secretary of CPS, and CPS board member, Nijmegen,
Gunter Senft, CPS board member, member Steering Committee ISIR, Max-Planck-Institute, Nijmegen.